Georg Muffat - Apparatus Musico-Organisticus

Georg Muffat - Apparatus Musico-Organisticus

Artikel-Nr.: 979-0-2612-4599-9

innerhalb 28 Tagen lieferbar

Preis inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand

Komponist: Muffat, Georg
ISMN: 979-0-2612-4599-9
Hardcover, 111 Seiten
Verlag: Cantando

twelve toccatas, four independent pieces

Georg Muffat might be considered one of the most important German composers of the late seventeenth century. This reputation rests on the string concerti he published but these do not belie the importance of his only publication of organ music, the 1690 Apparatus musico-organisticus. It contains not only his twelve toccatas, but also four pieces that are playable on either the organ or harpsichord. These are among the most substantial works to have been composed before JS Bach, and are rich in technical virtuosity, rhetorical design and harmonic and melodic invention.

Jon Baxendale’s new edition from Cantando’s critically acclaimed early keyboard music series is the only volume to contain the 1690 publication in its entirety. The preface examines in detail issues concerning the genesis of the volume, fingering, registration, rhetoric, stylus fantasticus, and is the first to properly assess Muffat’s writings on performance, which are discussed in light of other contemporary treatises of the time.

Published with a durable hardcover and clear print, it is the eighth publication in the new critically-acclaimed series of early keyboard music from Cantando Musikkforlag. 

Zu diesem Produkt empfehlen wir

* Preise inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand

Auch diese Kategorien durchsuchen: Komponisten M-O, Cembalo